Accentuate the Positives

I go through life with gusto. I say what I want and rarely walk away from an argument. I could be considered an “angry person” and there are moments when I realise how draining this is. I don’t consider myself a negative person, yet I could certainly do with focussing on the many positives in my life. I feel a resolution coming on.

I am not big on New Years Resolutions, believing if you want to change something in your life, do it now, rather than wait for the toll of midnight come December 31st. So besides promising to blog more and brush my teeth more than twice a day, I’ve set myself a good New Year’s Resolution as inspired by Angela.

Angela told me of a good exercise where at the close of each day, you write down three good things about that day. The aim of the exercise is to train your brain to be more positive. Yes, it’s sad some of us need a written exercise, but I for one could certainly do with it. I had a think about my Tuesday, my first day back at work since the Christmas. All I could recall was how tired and long the day was. Where were the positives? I asked myself. Within a few minutes I thought of my three and here they are:

  1. I wrote a blog I was proud of
  2. I received a loving hug from my Bestie Joanne
  3. Mum texted me and told me she loved me

My list might be soppy but it makes me feel good. Is writing out three things about your day something you should consider doing?

One response to “Accentuate the Positives

  1. that is a very good exercise and some of the research into positive psychology suggests it really does work too

Leave a Reply

