Foot in Mouth Disease

I was at Boyfriend’s family home on New Year’s Day. I sat on the couch nursing a woeful hangover. Boyfriend’s Dad Malachy busied himself, tidying one or two things away. While he moved about the room, I noticed how slim he looked.

“Malachy,” I said. “You’ve lost a lot of weight since I saw you last. Have you tips on how I could shed my Christmas Belly?”

Malachy continued to tidy around him. He plumped a cushion and placed it on the couch. He looked up at me. “Have a stroke,” he replied.

I stammered. “Er, no. I meant I think you’ve lost weight since I saw you a few weeks ago, not since your stroke.”

“I’ve lost no weight,” he replied.

I turned to Boyfriend, who sat next to me on the couch. I cringed. He laughed. I knew to let it drop.

Leave a Reply

